Change and Dilemma

I keep wondering who is in charge of the changes in our culture. So many things that used to denote one thing are now used to define something entirely different.

For example, my business card for Reflected Light Ministries features a rainbow.  As a child I was taught that the rainbow is a symbol of God’s promise to Noah never to destroy the entire world with flood again. (You will see the irony when you learn that I grew up in a rural Kansas community that billed itself as The Flood Capital.)

God’s light reflecting on suspended raindrops creates the rainbow.  I would hope people would see only that in the rainbow on my card.

However, the rainbow of diversity and the LGBT community has usurped that common understanding of the rainbow.  Some of my friends have overlaid their Facebook profile pictures with the six color bands of red, orange, yellow, blue, green and violet.  They did so in joyous response to the supreme court ruling that same-sex marriage must be recognized in all states. That is their prerogative.

That decision grieved my spirit. I fear that God really meant what he said in some of the scriptures which prohibit homosexuality. Take for example First Corinthians Chapter 6, Verses 9 and 10:

Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind,  Nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God.

Please also notice that it does not stop with homosexuality. It includes promiscuity and adultery, as well as those who put other things ahead of God, those who steal, those who are envious, those who drink to excess, those who speak harshly of others, and those who extort money. A whole bunch of us can fall into those categories.  I am extremely grateful that God is forgiving and merciful.

But you will notice that none of those other activities have  been approved by the laws of the land. Therein lies the difference and the source of my dismay.

That does not mean, however, that I cannot like and respect individuals who have made that choice. I can name several people for whom I have both respect and affection who live that way.  I’m not here to judge.

So what do I do? I do not want my rainbow confused with theirs. Mine does not carry a connotation of approval of these alternate lifestyles.  My belief system will not allow me to approve them.

But back to the card. Do I change my design because of the double meaning of the rainbow?

Let me know in the comments, please.

Thanks for listening to my dilemma.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Society, Values, Work

Leave a Reply

