Quote:

“What is not started today is never finished tomorrow.”  —   Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

My last entry on this blog was in January. This is now September. The content of that post was an outline for effective blogging. I didn’t follow through.  Mea culpa.

But I have the idea that quotes that I’ve been collecting might be the springboard for weekly posts. The one above from Johann Wolfgang von Goethe really jabbed me in the conscience.

All the good intentions in the world count for nothing if they are not followed by action. There are factors that I could quote in my defense, but they are useless.  The fact is I didn’t follow through.

It’s like an electric current. It’s either on or off. There is no middle ground.

Much of life is like that. For all the conversation about shades of gray, I believe that life is lived in black and white, right and wrong, good and evil, yes or no. All the back-pedaling and excusing and mitigating doesn’t change the fact that an action is either right or wrong.

I firmly believe that every action carries within itself the seed of its own reward or punishment. There is a consequence to every action or decision.

Children learn to walk by falling down. They don’t like falling, so they learn to balance better. We teach them by assigning consequences to negative actions.

It is a rule of physics: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

Can you think of a time when an action triggered a consequence?

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Excellence, Society, Values, Work, Writing

2 responses to “Quote:

  1. My friend, we live in a universe containing such infinite complexity that I cannot agree with your statement that all actions are either right or wrong. I am glad, however, that you are writing here again.

    Like

    • I recognize that we have differing opinions on that score, but even the most complex computer is based on yes/no, on/off. The complexity comes from the number of decisions that need to be made.

      Like

Leave a Reply

