Random Quotes

Confession time:  I’m a puzzle nut. I love puzzles of any kind. Word puzzles, jigsaw puzzles, number puzzles, you name it. I recently found a new game/puzzle site, Puzzle Baron’s Cryptograms.  I find it addictive. But the most interesting thing is that all the puzzles are quotes.

“I’m so rarely the arbiter of what all women want. I’m usually quite the outlier on that chart.”
— Rachel Maddow

This one seemed particularly appropriate to me. Growing up, I was the odd man out. Other people saw things I didn’t see, wanted things I knew nothing about, and seemed to talk in a foreign language part of the time.

There are, however, advantages to being the outlier. One has a different perspective from a distance.

Lindsborg, Kansas, is an art community, claiming  Birger Sandzen  almost as a native son, even though he was born in Sweden.  He used a palette knife technique on his paintings. Up close, they look awful, messy, globby.  But step back about twelve feet, and you see subtleties that you could not see any other way.  The play of light and shadow dances because his white is made up of small daubs of color; his greens reflect golds and reds; his blue is also green and gray and rosy. Sounds awful, but the effect is marvelous.

Our lives are much like those paintings. We see all the daubs and globs which seem to make no sense at all. But viewed from God’s perspective all those broken bits and pieces create a masterpiece — our lives. That is the most precious thing we can offer God. So let’s determine to give Him  all of it, the broken bits and pieces, the whole of it.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Jeremiah 29:11  (KJV)
I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.   Romans 12:1  (KJV)

 

About Judith Robl

Speaker - Author - Editor - Writing Coach
This entry was posted in Faith, Values and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Quotes

  1. karengass says:

    What a beautiful picture you painted with words! Considering my life at this point is like looking at the painting from about 1″ away, this encourages me greatly. Thank you – and I’m going to check out that puzzle site too! Karen

    Like

  2. sjlewis says:

    Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my favorite verses and I’m an outlier myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

