Four and a quarter percent

We’re halfway through the first month of 2013. Roughly four and a quarter percent of this new year is past us.

I started the new year with aspirations. I’ll not call them resolutions or even goals. Miserable failure through years of trying those has cured me of that exercise in futility.

Trying to think how to redeem the remainder of the year, especially where my writing is concerned, had me scratching my head. Then it came to me: SIMPLIFY!

What can I remove from my life that is mostly complication and/or procrastination? Since I spend a great deal of time on my computer, I started there.

Email was a major offender. I belonged to twenty-seven Yahoo groups and another on Google. Some of them I hadn’t participated in for months or even years. After finding the “Leave This Group” button on my subscriptions, I’m down to eleven on Yahoo and I kept the Google.  I may not be through leaving groups. This will come up for re-evaluation next month.

Then I started in on my email subscriptions. Blogs and newsletters that are not pertinent for my goals this year will be eliminated. I have a few writer friends whose blogs I read. I subscribe to several agents’ blogs. Those will probably not get the axe.  But I’ve also subscribed to blogs that made one promise and then fulfilled it by sending me “opportunities” to buy this or pay to hear that. They are going.  And from now on, if I get three “offers” in a row from any  subscription, the author will also discover that I’ve found the “Unsubscribe” button.

I still have ninty-five and thee-quarters percent of the year to redeem.  SIMPLIFY is the battle cry.

What can you redeem?  Do you have a watchword for the year?

 

About Judith Robl

Speaker - Author - Editor - Writing Coach
This entry was posted in Values, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four and a quarter percent

  1. Shadia Hrichi says:

    Haha…I’m also getting bogged down but to reach my goals, I went and signed up to two more blogs! Silly me, I think I got it backwards. I read somewhere, if a writer would devote half the time to writing as she does to learning how to get published, she’d be a far better writer. That may be true, but she’ll still be invisible 😉

    Like

    • Judith Robl says:

      Without the writing, all the publicity in the world will not make you an effective author. Remember that the goal is excellence in spreading the Word. Thanks for dropping by, Shadia. Wishing you a successful year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

