October Musings

My cyber friend, Carol Garvin, posed these questions on her blog today.

What does the end of October mean to you?

Are you a seasonal optimist, or one of the gloom-and-doom types?

I started to leave a comment, but it got way too long for a comment.

At this time of year, I think of the sister who died in October two years before I was born in June. I’ve  missed her all my life and felt a little cheated. October is also the month in which I lost three grandchildren.

November and December have always been stressed with too much to do, too little time, too little money and too many expectations, as well as a host of external stressors: places you are expected to be on someone else’s schedule and whim.

Fall and winter are the best excuse I know to hibernate with a good book(s), a cup of hot cocoa or spiced cider, and a warm blanket. You can wake me in mid- to late-February. I’ll almost be real people again by then.

I wouldn’t call myself a gloom-and-doom type. I’m more of a trudge-through-and-this-too-shall-pass type.  Sometimes just getting through is a victory.

About Judith Robl

Speaker - Author - Editor - Writing Coach
This entry was posted in Values, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October Musings

  1. Carol says:

    So many sad October memories for you!

    We have an elderly neighbour who absolutely dreads fall’s arrival simply because it means winter is coming. For a long time I didn’t understand that attitude — hating the present because of dreading the future — but on this dull, dreary, dismal, and way-too-dark Monday morning, I really didn’t want to get out of bed, and I think maybe now I get it! I don’t often stop to analyze my feelings, but I’m beginning to see why November could be a month many people would prefer to eliminate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

