History Repeats

I just read Jonathan Cahn’s book Harbinger. Although a novel, the research is impeccable – and staggering.

It was enlightening, sobering, frightening. If we read scripture, we know that God allows his apostate people to be punished by neighboring kingdoms. The author draws a well-documented parallel between an apostate Jewish people and the modern United States. His documentation and parallels give the reader pause.

This week Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, in conference with President Obama, said of Iran, “to them (Iran – formerly Persia), you (the US) are the great satan; we are the little satan. We are you, and you are us.”  Then he added that he agreed with the last statement.

The United States was founded upon Christian principles. Israel was founded by God’s chosen people. If you read scripture correctly, you can see the handwriting on the wall. “You have been weighed in the balance and found wanting.” (Daniel 5:27)

This is a call to action. What will you do?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “History Repeats

  1. Well, after reading through all the comments above, I am just going to download it on my Kindle. I suppose when you want something badly enough, you will pay for it. I am also an avid Israel supporter and feel like we are in perilous times.

    Like

    • I don’t spend money lightly either, but I’m not sorry I read it. I hope you find it enlightening. I didn’t read the reviews because I have a friend who reviews books. I bought it on her recommendation. She’s a savvy lady. I may have to check out “The Islamic Antichrist” too.

      Like

  2. Harbinger sounds like the kind of book I like.

    Like

    • It is certainly though-provoking. Will be eager to hear your thoughts once you’ve read it. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

      Like

      • It’s almost $10 on Kindle? Is it worth it? He sure picked up a lot of reviews..

        I saw that Amazon listed “The Islamic Antichrist” on the same page with it as one of those books, if you buy this book, you may want this book also. I read that and it was AMAZING.

        Like

  3. Sorry for the triplicates – thought I was making a minor correction…duh

    Like

    • We’ve all done that before. No apology necessary. I’ve never been interested in end time anything, When you mentioned Garner Ted Armstrong, it seemed to ring a small bell in the back of my brain. I never had any inclination to read the Left Behind series.

      Harbinger is not so much about end times, but it is about heeding God’s warnings. It makes the case that God is dealing with the United States now as he dealt with his chosen people in the time of Isaiah.

      It wasn’t tedious reading, at least I didn’t think so. I downloaded to my Kindle app late Saturday evening and didn’t put it down til Sunday morning. I’m still in the process of checking out all the references, but when I heard Netanyahu on TV this morning saying what I quoted in the posts, I was absolutely floored. It went right along, exactly, with what Jonathan Cahn had written.

      At least, it’s food for thought and a topic of discussion.

      Like

      • Since I closed caption for television, I am always looking at news through what the Bible says. If I wasn’t a Christian, I would be perpetually depressed. The world is a mess in so many ways. “Harbinger” seems like a great name to describe what;s happening now and what is to come.

        Like

  4. The Left behind series is about the end times. The series was written in the late 1990’s – early 2000’s – at one time the first four books held the top 4 slots on the NY Times best seller list. My daughter got the set for me to read while I recovered from surgery in 2001 as I had mentioned wanting to read them when I got a little free time. I found them to be tedious – didn’t make it through the first one.
    Herbert W. Armstrong founded the World Wide Church of God and a radio and television ministry built on end time prophecy with his son Garner Ted. When 1975 came and went the movement splintered.

    Like

  5. The Left behind series is about the end times. The series was written in the late 1990’s – early 2000’s – at one time the first four books held the top 4 slots on the NY Times best seller list. My daughter got me the set to read while I recovered from surgery in 2001 as I had mentioned wanting to read them when I got a little free time. I found them to be tedious – didn’t make it through the first one.
    Herbert W. Armstrong founded the World Wide Church of God and a radio and television ministry built on end time prophecy with his son Garner Ted. When 1975 came and went the movement splintered.

    Like

  6. The Left behind series is about the end times. The series was written in the late 90’s early 2000’s – at one time the first four books held the top 4 slots on the NY times best seller list. My daughter got me the set to read while I recovered from surgery in 2001 as I had mentioned wanting to read them when I got a little free time. I found them to be tedious – didn’t make it through the first one.
    Herbert W. Armstrong founded the World Wide Church of God and a radio and television ministry built on end time prophecy with his son Garner Ted.

    Like

  7. I’m half way through the Harbinger. My husband read it first and I had to so we could talk about it. We are avid Israel supporters. Their land was given to them, on more than one occasion, by the God above all Gods. I hear Christians crying out for God’s mercy but I haven’t seen repentance or even sorrow over our sin, as a nation or a people (Christians). I hear that is we keep crying out to Him he’ll forgive us and heal our land. Why would He? We’re arrogant and proud and pleased as punch to do it our way.
    My favorite Israeli politician is Avigdor Lieberman who has no qualms about speaking the truth plainly.
    A few days ago I read a passage about the nations meeting in the mountains of Israel standing against them, therefore against God. Those mountains are the very ones the US insists on giving away to Arabs who want to drive the Jews into the sea. When we side with anyone against Israel we are choosing a side other than God’s.
    God help us!

    Like

  8. Hello dear Friend,
    Have you ever posted book reviews on Amazon.com? This Ephemera would be a great one there. My review is on amazon already and the more posts a book receives the more attention and higher ratings amazon registers.
    Love you,
    Geni White

    Like

  9. Is this book a new version of Herbert W. Armsrtong’s teachings? And is the writing in this set any better than in The Left Behind series?

    Like

    • I’m not familiar with Herbert W. Armstrong’s teachings. And I’ve not read The Left Behind Series, so I cannot compare. However the writing is lucid and well turned. What got to me was the documentation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

