The Last Few Weeks

This has been a time of frustration, disappointment and sorrow.

Middle daughter is dealing with some health difficulties. It’s been a long haul – with no end in sight yet.

My Wednesday morning prayer partner lost her 43-year-old son suddenly. It seems his heart simply exploded. No warning. Ten minutes of nine, he left the house, and twenty minutes after nine, they got a call that he’d been rushed to the hospital. It was essentially all over before they got there.

And I went to church Sunday, hoping to see a good friend who has had health problems, only to learn that her mother had died without warning on Saturday. She hadn’t even been ill. She simply got sick in the night and was gone by afternoon.

I grieve with and for my friends. I know the kind of loss they are feeling. There are always regrets. I should have done this. I shouldn’t have done that. Why did I say that the last time I saw him/her? All the shoulda-woulda-couldas in the world come crashing down on you when you lose someone you love.

It is so hard to forgive ourselves. We see our shortcomings very clearly when it is too late to amend them.

We simply need to remember that Jesus paid it all — all the things I didn’t do that I should have and all the things I did that I shouldn’t have were wiped away with his blood at the cross. That doesn’t give us leave to live carelessly, but it does relieve us of the burden of onerous guilt when we recognize our own failings.

I’m so glad that God gave us His only Son. Aren’t you?

About Judith Robl

Speaker - Author - Editor - Writing Coach
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Values. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Last Few Weeks

  1. ““The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17) is another encouraging verse to remember in difficult times.

    Thanks for stopping by at my blog today. I hope you’re finding good support in the writing community for your writing.

    Like

  2. sjlewis says:

    So sorry to hear you’ve been ‘walking through a valley of tears’ recently. This verse selected from the Hebrew bible for the National Day of Prayer yesterday seems especially comforting today.
    “The LORD is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in Him.” Nahum 1:7

    Like

Leave a Reply

